McEwan Wins 10th North Otago Open

With a two-under-par total of 286, Brent McEwan (St Clair) won the 72-hole North Otago tournament by two shots from Philip Bungard (Templeton) on the North Otago course during the weekend

Brent McEwan at 2015 Toro Interprovincial

Brent McEwan at 2015 Toro Interprovincial

It was the former Otago No1’s 10th North Otago title. He won his first in 2002 and has achieved the incredible feat of taking the honours in the past nine consecutive tournaments.

McEwan (35) admitted that he was stuffed after the four rounds and said he ran out of steam yesterday afternoon.

“You have to be match fit to play this game and I have lost a lot of golf fitness in the last year,” he said.

McEwan has a liking for the North Otago course and is the current course record-holder with a nine-under-par 63 five years ago.

“I like the course, as I hit a lot of fairways and have mastered my angles into the greens, which is crucial on this course.”

Several of the current triallists disappointed during the weekend and their lack of patience showed at times.

Brandon Hodgson (Otago) set the early pace on Saturday morning with a two-under 70, followed by Chris Snow (St Clair) on 71.

Michael Ormandy and Jacob Bellamy (both St Clair) finished on par and McEwan was four shots off the pace on 74.

McEwan took control in the second round with a five-under-par 67 to lead Hodgson by four shots and Snow by five.

McEwan turned one-under after birdies at the third and fifth but started the homeward nine in style with a birdie at the 10th and an eagle two on the 11th.

With a two-under 70 yesterday morning, McEwan went into the final round with an eight-shot cushion on the field.

Inia Logan (Wakatipu Junior) was in second place, followed by Bungard, Hodgson, Ormandy and Snow.

Bungard carded five birdies in the final round for an impressive 68 to take second place, making up seven shots on a tiring Mcewan, who finished with 75.

The Otago selectors will name an Otago 10-man team this week to compete against Aorangi and Southland in the triangular tournament at Chisholm Links on October 1 and 2.


Story ODT


19 Sep 2016