Latest Order Of Merit Golf News

12 04 2018

2018 Age Group Championship to Matthew Crawford

A bogey five on the playoff hole was good enough to give Matthew Crawford, of St Clair, a win in the under-23 grade and the Ken Reddington Memorial trophy for 2018. Crawford shot two rounds of 72 and tied with first-round leader Jacob Bellamy, of St Clair, with 69 and 75 but took the title winning ...Read More »

3 04 2017

Callum Judkins is Otago Age Group Champion

Callum Judkins (Wakatipu Junior) was the star player at the Otago age-group championships, scoring 69 and 70 on the Balclutha course yesterday.[caption id="attachment_5260" align="alignright" width="267"] Callum Judkins[/caption] The 139 total gave Judkins the Ken Reddington Memorial trophy for the...Read More »

27 02 2017

2017 South Island Stroke Play to Mark Hutson

With rounds of 65, 69, 66 and 66, Mark Hutson (Muriwai) won the South Island men’s championship, which was played over 72 holes in fine conditions on the St Clair golf course during the weekend. He finished five shots ahead of his clubmate Kevin Koong. Tom Parker (Christchurch) took third place a...Read More »

17 02 2017

Entries Open for 2017 Intercollegiate Tournament

The annual Otago District Intercollegiate tournament will be held at North Otago Golf Club, Beach Road, Oamaru, on Friday 17th of March. The schools teams title is much sought after, with the champion school going through to represent the Otago province at the NZ Secondary Schools finals and NZ U...Read More »

30 01 2017

2017 Otago Stroke Play to Hiroki Miya

Canterbury juniors showed the way in the Otago men’s golf championship at the weekend, as Hiroki Miya (Russley) won and Tom Parker (Christchurch) finished second. Miya (16) was impressive from tee to green, finishing on a par 284 for the four rounds to win the title from Parker (17) by seven...Read More »

23 01 2017

Scott Hellier Wins First Leg of 2017 House of Travel Tour

Scott Hellier needed to sink an eight foot putt on the 18th green to secure the Lamb & Hayward Canterbury Strokeplay title after starting the round with a six shot lead. He had been chased down by Jake Hallinan who was standing over a four foot putt on the 18th to shoot 67. Hellier got his putt to w...Read More »

22 12 2016

Logan Tops Otago Order of Merit 2016

Inia Logan (Cromwell) is Otago's top amateur golfer, convincingly winning this year's Bridgestone Otago order of merit with an average of 285 points from his eight rounds in the 16 designated tournaments. Logan (18) was reserve for the Otago men's team last year but made his full debut at No3 in th...Read More »

25 09 2016

Otago & Canterbury Strokeplay Aggregate Event Launched

A combined initiative between Golf Otago and Golf Canterbury has been established to combat declining entries in the provinces’  premier strokeplay tournaments. With the demise of the SBS Bank Southland invitational tournament, there are no senior teams named early in the year  and  little i...Read More »

19 09 2016

McEwan Wins 10th North Otago Open

With a two-under-par total of 286, Brent McEwan (St Clair) won the 72-hole North Otago tournament by two shots from Philip Bungard (Templeton) on the North Otago course during the weekend [caption id="attachment_4336" align="alignright" width="275"] Brent McEwan at 2015 Toro Interprovincial[/capt...Read More »

12 09 2016

2016 Wanaka Open to Chris Snow in Playoff

Chris Snow (St Clair) won the 36-hole Wanaka men’s tournament after scoring a par three on the second hole of a sudden death playoff to beat Sungwoo Han (Queenstown) yesterday. The players finished the two rounds on par figures and halved the first playoff hole, each  scoring a par four. On...Read More »